• Stay
  • Explore
  • Taste
  • Plan
  • Blog

JoAnn Falletta and the VSO return for Ravel’s most famous work, Boléro. This melodic, whimsical work - originally composed as a ballet - is a perfect example of Ravel’s preoccupation with restyling and reinventing dance movements. The program begins with the Fourth Piano Concerto by Canadian composer André Mathieu, performed by guest artist Alain Lefèvre, who worked with conductor and composer Gilles Bellemare to reconstruct the composition that was lost for 70 years. At the height of the concert is Poulenc’s most celebrated work, Gloria.


JoAnn Falletta, conductor

Alain Lefèvre, piano

Anna Feucht, soprano

Virginia Symphony Orchestra Chorus

Robert Shoup, chorusmaster

Tailleferre: Overture

Mathieu: Piano Concerto No. 4

Poulenc: Gloria

Ravel: Boléro

Close map
Open map